Seasons of Life

To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven. –Ecclesiastes 3:1 NKJV

Seasons of Life

When God established nature’s cycle, He had a purpose and a reason in mind. Throughout each year, nature gives way to four seasons—spring gives way to summer, summer gives way to fall, fall gives way to winter. Each season gives itself to growing (spring), blooming (summer), fading (fall), and dying (winter), and then the cycle repeats itself.

The same can be said about our physical lives on Earth. We’re born, we grow, we mature, we live life, and then we die. Every season through which we travel has a reason and a purpose. What we sow (plant) in one season determines what we reap (harvest) in a future season of life. Good things happen when we give way to our purpose in the season we are in.

The difference between nature’s seasons and our existence is that when we reach the final season of our physical lives (winter/dying), those who believe in Christ will remain spiritually alive and live with God in glorified bodies shaped for Heaven.

Without purpose, life would be dull and boring. Embrace each season of life by sowing wisely, lovingly, and generously. Always remain hopeful of the everlasting life that will take place when Christ returns and makes all things new and glorious.

If you’ve been wandering in life with no purpose, ask God to reveal His destiny for you.

If you’re struggling with change, ask the Holy Spirit to help you grow through it so you can embrace the next season of life well.

Barbara Alpert
Latest posts by Barbara Alpert (see all)

Daily Devotions
In Your Inbox

Give us Your E-mail. Get the day's devotion every morning.